Bake it ’til you make it

I got a muffin pan at the back of my cupboard and two boys who love bread and sweets. I thought, hey, maybe I can bake.

I Googled ‘simple vanilla cupcake’ and followed the first link I saw. Flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, vanilla extract, mix ’em and then pop inside the oven – pretty straightforward, right? WRONG.

photo_2017-01-29_01-40-13

FAIL

The first step was to “cream” the sugar and butter.  I melted the butter and mixed it with the sugar. And it did NOT “cream.” Creaming, as it turns out, already needs a mixer. It also requires the butter to be at room temperature and not melted. I just wasted the ingredients I have on hand. I made Mark go out out to buy sugar and butter and with a lot of arm power, I was able to get the light and fluffy texture the recipe called for.

photo_2017-01-29_01-36-56

better

Next I had to mix in vanilla extract, milk and eggs. That was easy enough. Then I heated the oven and put the mixture inside the muffin pan and baked for 20 minutes. I was able to make 12 cupcakes, although the recipe said 20-24 cupcakes.

photo_2017-01-29_01-36-40

in the oven

Enzo couldn’t wait for the frosting anymore, so he ate one. He told me my cupcake tasted better than his favorite carrot cake. I think I died and went to heaven. Mark also ate one and told me it tasted great.

photo_2017-01-29_01-37-03

1st batch

Now, the frosting. I Googled “easy vanilla frosting” and again clicked on the first link. It required me to use powdered sugar, milk and butter. I didn’t have powdered sugar so I mixed sugar with flour (I used my friend Google again) Now I don’t know if this is where I went wrong or if it was because I didn’t have a mixer, but it wasn’t as light as I wanted it to turn out. After an hour of mixing, it did become fluffy-ish, but not as creamy as the ones we buy. I decided to frost only half of the cupcakes and leave the other half alone.

photo_2017-01-29_01-40-19

meh

Enzo’s already asleep, but Mark’s currently eating them. He says the frosting tastes good, too. But he likes everything I cook, so I’ll wait for Enzo’s opinion tomorrow.

photo_2017-01-29_01-38-40

finished!

Next time, I’ll make chocolate cupcakes. And yes, I already ordered a hand mixer from Lazada. Hand mixing takes a LOT of time, even (especially) when your well-meaning toddler decided you should take turns (“I’m waiting for my turn to mix.” and “Can I mix now? I think its my turn NOW.”) to use the whip.

photo_2017-01-29_01-36-48

little helper

The cupcakes were soft and moist, and sweet. I’m actually surprised they turned out well. Heh.

On another note, I’ve also started preparing a weekly menu and I’ve tried cooking different recipes to make E eat vegetables. So far, he and Mark have liked everything I make. Maybe I’ll also write about those soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

